All about Glastonbury Festival

The 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist is:

The Mercury nominations have been advised and it makes interesting reading from a Glastonbury perspective.

At least 8 of the nominations played at Glastonbury. Biffy Clyro played the Park as a surprise guest on the Saturday.
Although not my cup of tea, one of our neighbours Francesca had seen them about 4000 times in fact she was more or less a stalker as far as I could tell.

Mumford & Sons have been the big hit of the year and win at this would take them into the huge category and possibly a place on the Other Stage Next year.

Supposedly it is Paul Weller’s first ever nomination amazing for a man who last year won NME’s award for God like Genius.

My favourite album of the bunch is by the XX another who played Glasto.

Investment wise I think I will go out and buy the Foals and the Villagers as both bands have passed me by at the moment.

The 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist is:

Biffy Clyro – ‘Only Revolutions’
Corinne Bailey Rae – ‘The Sea’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Tongue N’ Cheek’
Kit Downes Trio – ‘Golden’
Foals – ‘Total Life Forever’
I Am Kloot – ‘Sky At Night’
Laura Marling – ‘I Speak Because I Can’
Mumford And Sons – ‘Sigh No More’
Paul Weller – ‘Wake Up The Nation’
Villagers – ‘Becoming A Jackal’
Wild Beasts – ‘Two Dancers’
The XX – ‘XX’

Leave a Reply

