All about Glastonbury Festival

Dance Village

Dance Tent

51 DAYS TO GO

What do David Guetta, La Roux, Pete Tong, 2 Many DJ’s, Eric Prydz, Peaches and Calvin Harris have in common . They all played in the Dance Village at Glastonbury last year.

I think a Dance tent was introduced in 1995 and it has gone from strength to strength since then and is now a whole area. Seen I went in 95 I was there at the start. Well I would have been if I went, but Dance music wasn’t on my radar then. Since then I have become a big fan of the genre and love nothing more than to bop along to some car alarm here or there.

In fact I started my own hard house dance club in 1999 and ran that for a couple of years. One of our DJ’s then John Rundell is now doing the circuit with Carl Cox, and we had the head honcho of Nuckleuz records Ed Real DJ for us and my last promotion was with Knowhere where we had Dutch superstar DJ’s Signum bang down some tunes.

So I love the Dance Village, it is one of those places that you can visit in between bands at the Other Stage or John Peel. I managed to see VV Brown , Goldilocks, We have Band  and Peaches amongst others whilst traversing the site last year.

There is a good bar in the village and plenty of food. In fact you could easily spend your whole time there if Dance was your thing.

This year Fatboy Slim is back and that should be awesome, remember he is big enough to play to 100,000 people in Brighton every now and again. That new indie / dance band Delphic will be playing live on Friday night and the wonderful Roger Sanchez will be slipping a few house tunes down Friday afternoon.

On Sunday Above and Beyond will be spinning the discs, I have heard nothing but great things about them and I think that this will be how I finish off my Glastonbury this year. To start the Day We have Band return, it will be interesting to see how they have evolved in the year, and then Crystal Fighters keeps things rolling.

I recommend getting down to the  Village and spending some time exploring the various areas and stages they have set up this year. You can check out the official website for full details and I am sure the clashfinder will have up to date times up as well very soon

No 1 Son in Dance Tent

Leave a Reply

