All about Glastonbury Festival

Gang of Four – John Peel – Sunday 27 – 18.00

55 DAYS TO GO

I can’t believe after 30 years I am going to finally see the Gang of Four. It is 1979’s Entertainment that we all turn to when we think of GO4. This was and still is one of the most important albums in musical history. A harsh landscape of grating guitars  and pumping bass.

1979 was an important year for me, a year I discovered Punk, 2 years  late mind you , but still it was there and the bands that mattered then,  Joy Division, Cure, Siouxsie, The Fall, GO4 and U2 still matter now. These bands paved the way for Yank Punk, Britpop and Indie as we know it now.

GO4 never really hit the big time although Their debut album, Entertainment!, ranked at Number 490 in Rolling Stone‘s The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. David Fricke in Rolling Stone said “Gang of Four are probably the best politically motivated dance band in rock & roll.

I’m not sure what that actually means but it seems like high praise indeed.

Gang of Four play the JP Tent Sunday evening at about 6pm, and I will be rolling up there with my fellow old timers, for me to see my early heroes for the first time, for some to re live past glories.

Leave a Reply

