All about Glastonbury Festival

To World Cup or not to World Cup

56 DAYS TO GO

I know its Glastonbury, its music, its performance Art, but hey Football is performance art isn’t it ?

I will let you in on a secret, I am a Kiwi, and New Zealand have made the World Cup. Now Glastonbury is every year, the World Cup is every 4 and NZ making it is every 30 years. So I will be taking a very keen interest on our 3 games and one of them is on during Glastonbury. So I make a plea to Michael Eavis, please play the NZ game on the big screen on the Pyramid Stage at 3pm on Thursday afternoon. It might just be me there, but I will be cheering loudly and it will be something that may never happen again. It could even be NZ’s last ever world cup game.    

Also I have a NZ World Cup – Glastonbury history, in 1995 NZ played South Africa in the final of the Rugby World Cup. I had to watch it. So Saturday afternoon with no knowledge of the Glastonbury Geography, I left the site and went hunting for a TV at a Pub , about an hour later I found one and watched the game. For the non-historian’s amongst you NZ lost by a drop goal in extra time. Although we lost it was worth it as I had the best and cleanest shit I have ever had at a festival in my life.

Anyway less on bodily functions and more on Football. Below are the most important games of the World Cup with UK times that are on during Glastonbury. Please also note that Aussie and England may well play each other if they reach the round of 16.  

Wednesday, 23 June 2010
Slovenia v England, Gp C, 15:00
Australia v Serbia Gp D 19.30
 
Thursday, 24 June 2010
Paraguay v New Zealand,  15:00
 
Saturday, 26 June 2010 – Possible if teams qualify
England v Australia , 16R, 19:30 
 
Sunday, 27 June 2010 – Possible if teams qualify
Australia  v England, 16R, 15:00
3 responses

  1. Ace

    Go the all whites!

    April 27, 2010 at 8:28 am

  2. megan

    Hey where is this pub you went? As I’m desperate to watch aus vs serbia but will be at the festival and they are only playing england games 😦

    June 11, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    • Not sure how you are getting there but the coach trip from the train station Castle Cary to the festival site there were about 3 pubs on the way.
      Another option is to organize a taxi to pick you up from one of the exits and take you to the pub. There are plenty around.

      June 12, 2010 at 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

