All about Glastonbury Festival

Magic Numbers – Other Stage – Friday 25 – 11.00

60 DAYS TO GO

I love the Magic Numbers. I love everything about them. I love their attitude, their music, their clothes, I love their drummer.

I can tell you right now that they were very high on my bands I wanted to see at Glasto list this year.

I think it must have been about 2005 when they first seeped into my conscience, with their swirling melodies and infectious tunes. To me they were the band of the summer. Fitting then that the first and only time I have seen them was at the Brixton Academy as part of a NME shockwaves event.  Man I  love the Academy and so did the Numbers, they name checked the place about 100 times that night. Since then Me and the Magic Numbers have come close to meeting but keep falling at the last hurdle.

Unfortunately they haven’t really hit the dizzy heights that those days of summer 2005 were suggesting they would.

This year they are back, with a new album, and back on a Main Stage even if it is only at 11am. They are also playing the Queens Head later that night.

Lucky for me though that I also love seeing bands at 11am, so you will see me down the front of the other stage dancing away, beer in hand, starting the Friday  how I mean to go on. 

Just as an aside, another great memory I have of the Magic Numbers is of dancing around a farmhouse near Nice at Xmas, smashed eating french onion soup and playing Boules. Great times soundtracked by the Numbers.

Thanks Guys see you at the Other Stage

2 responses

  1. Ace

    I’m with you there, new album out 7th Jun. I remember seeing them at The Forum Kentish town In 07, they were brilliant. Apparently they played Glastonbury that year too.

    April 22, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  2. Can’t wait for the new album, just got Hot Chips new one yesterday, but not sure how I can fit them in as want to see Newton Faulkner as well

    April 22, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Leave a Reply

